A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

When Worlds Collide

Posted by bmac on August 9, 2007

I bet she never “leaves a penny” at 7/11.
This woman is obviously a lunatic, but anyone who’s ever lived in an urban environment, and had to deal with the abuse of “Big City Bums,” has probably thought about doing the same thing. Don’t get me wrong, I am not condoning this woman’s actions in any way, shape, or form. All I’m saying is, contrary to the media’s portrayal of the homeless, many of them are abusive, nasty, mean-spirited jerks, who love nothing more than to try to ruin your day.
I lived in Hollywood, California, in the mid-80s, and at that time, it was extremely run down, and littered with homeless. I had a car, but I walked everywhere, because it’s virtually impossible to find a parking space in Los Angeles. In my daily travels, I was constantly accosted by homeless guys, and the exchange usually went something like this:
Homeless Guy- (yelling) GIMME SOME MONEY!!
Me- (naive) Sorry, I’m broke. (I was)
Homeless Guy-F*** YOU A**HOLE!!!!!
Me-(walking faster)
Homeless Guy-(following me, yelling) C’MON MAN, GIMME SOME MONEY!!
Me-(pretty sure I was about to get shanked) Sorry dude, do I look like I have money?
Homeless Guy-F*** YOU!!!
Or some variation thereof. Pretty much every single day. Needless to say, my empathy for the homeless became a little….strained.

Leave a Reply

 
