A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

California Tackles The Big Issues

Posted by bmac on October 4, 2007

I’m old enough (43) to have actually smoked on a plane. Doesn’t that sound insane in 2007?  Soon, in California, you won’t be able to smoke in your apartment.  Here in my hometown of Las Vegas, you cannot smoke in bars that serve food, as I’ve posted about before here, and here. 

These laws are easy to pass, because people have a vitriolic hatred of smokers. When they walk into that voting booth, it’s the one issue that they get to directly screw over people they don’t like. Constitution be damned, it’s payback time bitch! Eat it you asshole smoker, because you had the audacity to have made me mildy uncomfortable on a few occasions.

The people who whine and cry about the Patriot Act taking away our liberties, are the exact same people that can’t take mine away fast enough.

As a smoker, these bans don’t have that big an effect on me, because I really don’t get out much. What infurates me, is that we have become such a nation of pussies. A nation that is more terrified of cigarette smoke, than of actual terrorists.

I’ve said it before, these bans are the first step to a fascist state. Smoking, trans fats, they start with the easy targets. Everyone hates smokers and fat people. Eventually, they’ll ban something you may care about.

6 Responses to “California Tackles The Big Issues”

  1. Enas Yorl said

    I remember when they still had smoking on planes. Made for a miserable flight for me when I was a kid. At the new building where I work we have a non-smoking garage. You’re not even allowed to smoke anywhere on the grounds outside except for a small Corner of Shame tucked waaaaaay over there around the other side of the building from the entrance.

  2. bmac said

    Corner of Shame! Ha! or GLAR!
    I totally agree about smoking on a plane, it’s too small a space. It’s just weird to me that in just 20 or so years, something that was not even thought about much, has become so utterly unthinkable. Makes me feel kind of old.

  3. abarclay12 said

    I’m not a smoker, but I cannot believe that now Calif. is trying to ban smoking on the sidewalk. Where the hell are people supposed to go to smoke? It’s over the top. Plus, I loathe gum and the obnoxious way people chew it. I’d rather gum was banned on the sidewalks.

  4. eddiebear said

    So far, the fast food lawsuits have been tossed out (I think). But they’ll keep coming until they get a sympathetic judge.

    I’m actually surprised that Madison County, IL, which is across the river from my STL, hasn’t gotten in on the food suits yet. That county is the “Jackpot Justice” capital of the US.

  5. kruzer said

    I don;t like to smell or inhale smoke.
    This is coming from an X-smoker.
    It’s a filthy habit and not good for anyone.

    The best thing I;ve ever done is stop smoking.

  6. Really nice post – thanx for sharing

Leave a Reply

 
