A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

My New Hero

Posted by bmac on October 16, 2007

ramseyb.jpg    

I’m a huge Gordon Ramsay fan. I just like the way he does things. Coming as I have, from the world of construction, I understand how effective a little in your face screaming can be, especially if you’ve done something really stupid. Nothing motivates you more than having your mistake loudly pointed out to you, in front of your co-workers. You learn real fast to not make stupid mistakes. Gordon is great at this. He’s harsh, but at the end of the day, wants people to do well and have high standards. You know you’re not gonna be able to slip one past him.

I’ve worked for quite a few bosses like this, although my bosses didn’t really mean well, they were just dicks, knowlageable dicks, which makes it even worse, but they did make me perform at a high level, if only to not have to get into a screaming match with them. Lotta screaming in construction, stuff that, in an office, would probably result in a lawsuit.

Hells Kitchen is great, but I love the Kitchen Nightmares show, especially the English version. For the American version, they “Foxified” it,  ramping up the screaming  and hyper fast editing. The English version’s way more low-key. If you get BBC America, check it out.

It may sound odd, but Gordon Ramsay is kind of an inspiration to me, maybe because I don’t have anybody screaming at me anymore, but after I watch one of his shows, I go into my own business and try a little harder for perfection, even though my business has nothing to do with food.

       

6 Responses to “My New Hero”

  1. kruzer said

    Dude!

    Are you crazy?
    heheh

    I never thought people should scream at each other.
    That’s not communcation and don’t belong in the workplace.
    I owned 9 different companies in my lifetime and never ever talked down to anyone much less, abused that person in this matter.

    People have feelings, no matter how they screwed up.
    It was clear that I tolerated more mistakes then most bosses, because that way people were not afraid to take chances.

    BTW I don’t watch shows like that because it;s insulting to communicate with people on that level. It is not necessery and useless.

    I do like your blogs and come back to read often🙂
    So, don’t take my opinion out of context. We are all different and how we handle things.
    cheers

  2. bmac said

    Have you ever watched the show? Bottom line, Gordon gets results, and the targets of his rants usually end up loving him for it.

  3. Enas Yorl said

    I’ve never watched the show, but I’m glad I never had a job where I got yelled at.

    Hey, Sobek says he might be able to drop by for a bit on our Friday meetup. What time were we going to meet at the pool hall?

  4. bmac said

    I was thinking somewhere between 6:30 and 7:00.

  5. 330xiGirl said

    Gordon is Awesome! I love all of his shows. He’s really inspired me to step up my game in the kitchen…I’d hate to give him a reason to yell at me like he yells on his show!

  6. arthur said

    very funny you like gordom ramsay for the exact reasons i do and being inspired by him too even though i am in a whole other field.

Leave a Reply

 
