A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

Ron Silver And Fear Of The Right

Posted by bmac on November 16, 2007

Interesting stuff from Ron Silver.

Since speaking in support of George Bush at the 2004 Republican convention I’ve become increasingly disadmired by members of my profession as well as many others. As of this writing my family tells me they still love me. I believe them, but stay tuned, as another presidential cycle is upon us.

I like this guy, it took a lot of balls for him to support Bush, and I applaud that, but here’s where I get confused.

I count myself firmly in the tradition of Wilson, FDR, Truman and Kennedy…and yes, Reagan and George W. Bush. “Go anywhere, bear any burden,” “try to do our best to make a world safe for democracy.”

Why not just become a Republican? He’s holding on to a Democrat Party that does not exist anymore. The days of the JFK Democrat are over buddy, and they’re not coming back. Republicans today are pretty much JFK Democrats anyway, and he’s already been given the “Scarlet Letter,” so why not switch to the party that best represents your feelings and beliefs?

I have always resisted reactionaries from the left or right, Democrat or Republican. At the moment, the reactionary forces on the left, the Democratic netroots and their supporters—Mickey Colitis from the Daily Cuss, MoveOn.org and the Moores and Sheehans—are more fearful to me than the traditional reactionary forces of the extreme right. And the Democratic Party seems to be listening to them.

When Mr. Silver, and anyone else talk about the “extreme right,” who exactly are they talking about? He definitely knows who the extreme left are. Silver clearly supports Bush, so he must not think Bush is the “extreme right,” so who is? I never get that. Who is this mysterious Extreme Right? The KKK?

Republicans have been slandered for so long, that even educated, reasonable people have this bizarre notion that we want to re-instate slavery, invade every country on Earth, and have a modern day Crusade if given half a chance. Even Mr. Silver, who seems to me to hold values perfectly in line with the current Republican agenda, is still wary of making the move to the party that suits him, for fear of being labeled a (Gasp!)Republican.

Anyway, an interesting read.

6 Responses to “Ron Silver And Fear Of The Right”

  1. bmac said

    Absolutely, I like him too, but c’mon man, COMMIT!

  2. bmac said

    That’s weird, my comment went above yours Deb.

  3. nicedeb said

    O’Reilly likes to throw in that that “extreme right” caveat as well.
    I guess they figure it gives them more credibility.

    But I like the guy. It really does take balls to speak out like that in an openly hostile place, like Hollywood.

  4. bmac said

    Ok, my comments are going back in time.
    Better check the Flux Capaciter.

  5. […] bmac placed an observative post today on Ron Silver And Hollywood.Here’s a quick excerpt:Interesting stuff from Ron Silver. Since speaking in support of George Bush at the 2004 Republican convention I’ve become increasingly disadmired by members of my profession as well as many others. As of this writing my family tells me … […]

  6. cranky said

    The JFK Democrats ceased to exist in about 1965. Apparently those who use the name Democrats today licensed the name sometime in the past. Name only, none of the positions. Remember the Olympia calendar thing? Someone posted an event to recognize Abraham Lincoln as the greatest Democrat president, evah. Only problem, of course, is that Lincoln was a Republican and the Democrats were, and are, the party of slavery.

Leave a Reply

 
