A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

Joshua Tree Remastered

Posted by bmac on November 21, 2007

I loved this album when it came out. At the time, I worked in a record store, and got it the day it was released. It was one of those records that just sounded like an instant classic.

u2.jpg

That being said, if I never hear it again, it’ll be too soon. Yes, it’s a great album, but I don’t think a day has gone by in 20 years that I haven’t heard at least one song from it. The majesty of “Where the streets have no name” has worn thin. The heartfelt longing of “I still haven’t found what I’m looking for” has lost it’s heartfeltedness. Whatever the hell Bono’s pissed about in “Bullet the blue sky” is still a mystery to me, but I guess it has something to do with Shanty-Towns, and he’s probably addressed it by now.

No doubt many many people will run out and re-purchase this because the hi-hat is 10khz. sharper or whatever, but I’d say just tune in any one of the three classic rock stations in your town, and you can hear it for free all day long.

2 Responses to “Joshua Tree Remastered”

  1. Enas Yorl said

    I never was much of a U2 fan – all of their songs sounded too much the same to me. I seem to remember something about the how the guitarist could only play in one key. Is that right? Also, did Bono ever find whatever the hell it was that he was looking for?

  2. bmac said

    I think he was looking for his keys. Probably found em.
    The guitar player can play in at least 3 keys.

Leave a Reply

 
