A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

1/3 Of Americans Are Obese….Fatass

Posted by bmac on November 29, 2007

Apparently we are a nation of lardasses. 

With more than 72 million Americans counted as obese, adult obesity rates for both sexes seem to be holding steady at about 34 percent, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported.

I don’t buy this. Overweight maybe, but obese?  The article doesn’t specify what the definition of obese is, and I’m way too lazy to look it up, but I’m sure it’s a ridiculous standard, like the CDC’s standard for being overweight, the same standards that make most professional athletes overweight.

This is the typical alarmist crap that makes it possible to outlaw really tasty stuff made with sweet, sweet trans-fats. Propaganda for the food police to regulate one more thing in our lives, on our way to a smoke free, taste free, freedom free utopian wonderland full of low fat lollipops and multi-cultural unicorns, under a gay rainbow.

I can already see the news report: A montage of huge fat asses shot from the waist, cut to a shot of someone wolfing down a greasy cheeseburger, another gigantic rump waddling down the street, oblivious to the fact they’re being filmed, and later mocked as an example of everything wrong with America, cut back to another person (not fat) getting ready to dig in to a gargantuan plate of disgusting looking crap that was probably meant for more than one person (but edited not to look that way), all while a narrator makes references to “Super-sizing” and probably drops in a Wal-Mart reference somewhere just for good measure, and when we cut back to the anchors, they’re shaking their heads in a condescending manner, as if to say, “I’m not fat, I care about my appearance, why can’t those disgusting pigs in that montage just go to the gym for God’s sake.”

*Whew*

I don’t see many people I would consider obese on a daily basis, certainly not 1/3 of the people I see everyday. Do you?

11 Responses to “1/3 Of Americans Are Obese….Fatass”

  1. nicedeb said

    Where do you live, son?

    Where I live it’s at least 50%

  2. bmac said

    50%? That are obese?
    Dang!

  3. mesablue said

    Lots of fat asses in Detroit. I’d say the majority.

    But, according to the BMI, I’m obese. I’m six four and weigh 220. The fact that my waist is 34 doesn’t figure into it.

  4. bmac said

    My point exactly. The average person will see a story like this and think a third of the country are 400 lb behemoths.

  5. Rosetta said

    The article doesn’t specify what the definition of obese is, and I’m way too lazy to look it up

    Hahahaha. That’s funny, fat man.

    I’m obese on the BMI scale too. Whoever came up with that can suck my big bones.

  6. barrysrib said

    Obese is considered based on BMI (body mass index). Not sure where obese hits, but morbidly obese hits at a BMI of 40. You can calculate this with the following formula:

    *SHORTCUT METHOD for Calculating BMI without Calculator
    Example: a person who is 5 ft. 5 in. tall weighing 149 lbs.

    1. Multiply weight (in pounds) by 703 149 x 703=104747
    2. Multiply height (in inches) by height (in inches) 65 x 65=4225
    3. Divide the answer in step 1 by the answer in step 2 104747 ÷ 4225=24.8
    4. Round Off to Nearest Number BMI=25

    Hope that helps you. Have a great night.

    Robin

  7. bmac said

    My BMI would be about 30 using that method, and I’m 6’0 195.
    Is that obese?
    Maybe if I looked up the definition of obese, I might get down to a 25.

  8. barrysrib said

    Well, Bmac, according to the formula above, you would be 26.44 – which, even if rounded up would be only 27. Since I couldn’t give the definition of obese in my last comment, I went onto ask.com and found out that a BMI greater than or equal to 30 is considered obese.

    Hope that helps.

    BTW, I’m 5’6″ and weight 165#. My BMI calculates to 27, which is a darn site better than the BMI of 40 I was at prior to losing 100# – and I still feel like I look obese!

  9. bmac said

    Congrats on the weight loss!
    And thanks for being so thorough, I’m a lazy bastard, with no attention span.
    I think armed with this info, I can put up an informative post (with credit to you of course)

  10. MRN said

    Folks……be careful with BMI numbers…….especially those with larger bone structure and/or athletes carrying more lean muscle mass……

    A better indicator is the waist to hip ratio…………….especially for men, why?

    Well men tend to put fat on the waistline and any man with a larger hip (size around the glut) with a small waist is usually an athlete with a a muscular glut and lean waist.

    So if you have a higher BMI but a good waist/hip ratio odds are you are in shape and the BMI number is not as relevant.

    Google waist/hip ratio and you find the specifics on that…..

    Use both to get accurate readings………woman can too but they tend to have a hip/waist ratio that is pear shaped to begin with and could have a small waist but still lots of hip fat………..that would never exist on a man……most out of shape men have a gut and flat butt…….

Leave a Reply

 
