A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

I Love “Rockumentaries”

Posted by bmac on December 14, 2007

I wrote about this on my now defunct music blog, but I’m gonna expand a little here, because I have nothing else I feel compelled to blog about right now. I know a lot of AoS morons are musicians, so maybe you guys can appreciate a good rockumentary. This one, is an an excellent film called “Dig!”

127_dig_dig_06_01.jpg

This film was shot over seven years(!), and features two L.A. bands, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, and The Dandy Warhols, who are rivals/friends. If “artsy people” annoy you, steer clear of this, but if you’re like me, and enjoy watching retards from afar, this will provide two and a half hours of pure entertainment.

We follow the success/failure of both bands over the course of seven years. The Dandy Warhols go on to pretty huge success in Europe, in fact, you’ve probably heard a few of their songs as they’re used in a lot of commercials. The BJM however, collapse under their ego-centric, and drug addled leader, the once promising Anton Newcombe, whom we get to see unravel over the course of the film in a lot of really entertaining ways. If you like that kind of thing. (I do)

The memorable scene in a film full of memorable scenes, is a showcase the BJM play at the famous Viper Room in L.A., for a label rep that was about to sign them. The nototriously unstable Newcombe goes apeshit, and begins what turns into a full blown onstage brawl between band members, forever sealing their fate. Although Newcombe is viewed by the music industry in L.A. as a genius, after that fight, he’s untouchable by any serious label. A career destoying moment, caught on film. Ultimately, the film becomes a chronicle of Newcombe’s downward spiral, including the obligatory heroin addiction, that is both depressing and hilarious. Amazingly enough, he’s still alive. 

Here’s the trailer: Warning: Two guys kiss, but it goes by very fast.        

Have a couple beers, and enjoy!

5 Responses to “I Love “Rockumentaries””

  1. Enas Yorl said

    Ok, I added it to the Netflix queue. Years ago I watched a sorta documentary about The Doors called “Dance on Fire” I think. It was mostly interesting because it featured interviews of Grace Slick and another dude from The Jefferson Airplane about their memories of the European tour with Jim Morrison & Co and their perspectives about them and the music world of that time.

  2. Okay, I gotta tell ya – I’ve only had ONE beer, and I stilled enjoyed the heck out of the trailer!!!!

    Robin

  3. bmac said

    I think you guys will like it. As music documentaries go, it’s one of the best I’ve ever seen, and I consider myself an expert.
    Enas, I’m gonna check out “Dance on fire,” that one must have slipped by me.

  4. eddiebear said

    How would you like to be the other bandmembers, knowing that you worked your ass off, knowing the retard frontman killed your career?

  5. Enas Yorl said

    Hah! That question works for both the Jonestown Massacre guys and The Doors.

Leave a Reply

 
