A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

Rush Confirms One Of My Fears

Posted by bmac on January 15, 2008

Well, at least I know I’m not crazy.This is a great transcript from Rush Limbaughs radio show, in which he addresses the fact that Republicans are deliberately moving center-left, in an attempt to “redefine the party.” You gotta read the whole thing, because Rush is brilliant, but here’s one little piece, and the quotes are from Newt Gingrich.

don’t know this. It’s just a wild guess, but based on this comment, “The Reagan era is over. The George W. Bush era is over. We’re at a point in time we’re about to start redefining, as a number of people have started talking…” Yes, they are. Every one of these Republicans is starting to talk about redefining the party, and this has been going on since the early days of this, not just now. If you recall, all during last year, I told you this was my big concern: that Reaganism and conservatism were going to be redefined so as to fit the mold of whoever these guys on our primary roster are.

There you go. We are on a very slippery slope to a one party system. Rush really hits the nail on the head with this:

Is their objective, for whatever reason — sour grapes, they don’t think they can win as Republicans because they’re really not Republicans. Is this the objective here, to redefine (or maybe ruin) the Republican Party? Even so, the coalition of Democrats, independents, moderates, the Jell-Os, that is not a coalition. They don’t have a coalition. McCain doesn’t have one. Huckabee doesn’t have one. They want to transform the party into a center-left party like these so-called conservative parties in Europe, and to do that, they’ve gotta say, “The Reagan era is over,”

Scary stuff. You know, I’ve sat and watched the last four years, as Republicans have remained silent as Bush was getting blamed for Katrina, remained silent as Harry Reid said the war is lost, remained silent as Chavez called Bush the devil. I thought maybe they were just letting the Dems dig their own hole. I’m not so sure anymore. The Dems have provided so much political fodder for Republicans to capitalize on, that the fact they failed to do so is…..well it seems intentional.

If Thompson can’t pull this nomination out of his ass, we’re in deep trouble folks. A Democrat or a RINO in the White House is gonna be disastrous for this country, and could very well be the final nail in the coffin for the Republican party as we know it.

On the plus side, maybe we can start a Conservative Party.

We’re gonna need it.

40 Responses to “Rush Confirms One Of My Fears”

  1. Cody said

    “So-called conservative parties in Europe”? I think Rush needs to learn what “conservative” really means. European parties are closer to its original meaning. It’s also interesting that he calls the movement of the Republican party to center-left bad, considering the Republican Party used to be a lot more liberal than it currently is.

    It’d be nice if there were more than two major political parties. Then we wouldn’t have to worry about a particular party believing the “wrong” thing.

  2. bmac said

    Cody, I just don’t even know where to start with that comment.
    If anyone knows what “conservative really means,” it’s Rush Limbuagh.
    Also, when exactly was the Republican party “a lot more liberal than it currently is?”

    And finally, I do agree we need a realistic third party.
    A Conservative party, American style. I could give a fuck what the European definition of conservative is.

  3. pajama momma said

    You know, I’ve sat and watched the last four years, as Republicans have remained silent as Bush was getting blamed for Katrina, remained silent as Harry Reid said the war is lost, remained silent as Chavez called Bush the devil. I thought maybe they were just letting the Dems dig their own hole. I’m not so sure anymore. The Dems have provided so much political fodder for Republicans to capitalize on, that the fact they failed to do so is…..well it seems intentional.

    Exactly!I’ve been feeling like I’m in bizarro world. I’m so tired of people in the Republican party being weak, of letting the Democrats kowtow over them and saying well, we’re above that kind of behavior. Jesus did not turn the other cheek when they were gambling in His Father’s House, why are the Republicans not standing up?

  4. bmac said

    “why are the Republicans not standing up?”

    That’s the question isn’t it?

    Also, how the eff do I do italics on a wordpress comment?

  5. pajama momma said

    Well Bmac if you want to start a Conservative Party, I’ll follow.

  6. nicedeb said

    What’s sad is, if the Republicans had stood up and fought the Dems, and defended Bush…. stood up for conservative principles, showed some fire in the belly, instead of being weak, dispirited, weaselly incompetents, we could have won the 2006, election.

  7. bmac said

    It seems to me the Republicans have been trying to distance themselves from Bush since 04, and they mis-read their loss in 06 as a message to become more liberal, and are now committed to that.
    Once again, totally oblivious to what Americans want.

    And nobody answered my question, how do I do italics in a wordpress comment? I’m kinda computer-retarded.

  8. bmac said

    Let’s do it PJ, The Conservative Party starts here!

    *painting half my face blue, and getting on a horse*

    They can take our lives, but they can’t take our FREEDOM!!!

    Who’s with me people!?

    *sound of chirping crickets*

  9. Cody said

    Bmac: think 19th century. The Republican party was a lot more to the left back then than it is now. Heck, it was practically a different party. It started moving to the right in the early to mid-20th century. Rush Limbaugh and others like him are more like paleoconservatives.

    Also, if you want to put italics in a comment, put around the italicized part (no spaces between the brackets, though).

  10. nicedeb said

    Your word

    No spaces, of course.

  11. nicedeb said

    Oh crap. I guess I can’t use the symbols.

    A larger than symbol, i, lesser than symbol, your word, larger than, slash, i, lesser than symbol.

    No spaces, no commas.

    I just learned it recently from Wiserbud, and now I use it all the time. All this ‘puter crap is new to me.

  12. bmac said

    Fair enough Cody, but really I’m only using my lifetime as a reference, it didn’t even occur to me to think back that far in relation to the subject.
    And thanks for the tip!

    THE PALEOCONSERVATIVE PARTY STARTS HERE!

    WHO’S WITH ME!!!

  13. nicedeb said

    I starting a novena for Fred! Who’s with me???

  14. nicedeb said

    *crickets*

  15. bmac said

    I’m with you Deb!!

    what’s a novena?

  16. pajama momma said

    <

  17. pajama momma said


    and

    is what I used

  18. pajama momma said

    oooops

  19. pajama momma said

  20. pajama momma said

    My son and I will both do a novena NiceDeb!

    sorry about all those posts, I know understand what NiceDeb said when she meant she couldn’t use symbols.
    but this symbol right here will do it and then to close it you do it the same way after the sentence you put a / before the i

  21. pajama momma said

    hahahaha a pointy bracket is the symbol…..I’m giving up now

  22. pajama momma said

    THE PALEOCONSERVATIVE PARTY STARTS HERE!

    isn’t that a diet?

  23. bmac said

    I think I’m a little confused, but I’ll try a test.
    Thanks guys!

  24. bmac said

    What’s funny is that people are gonna think this post really has it goin on.
    And then they’ll read the comments.

  25. pajama momma said

    A larger than symbol, i, lesser than symbol, your word, larger than, slash, i, lesser than symbol.

    ok actually she’s right, but she has it reversed.
    It’s the “lesser” than symbol,then the letter “i” (for italicize, you use b for bold) then the “greater than” symbol and at the end of the word or sentence you put it the same way except a forward slash before the “i”

    I just spammed the heck out of you and I haven’t even had caffeine today. *claps hands excitedly*

  26. pajama momma said

    LMAO, sorry

  27. bmac said

    Someone get PJ Momma some caffeine……quick.

  28. eddiebear said

    Sadly, more than just one side has seemed a little too sanguine about the prospect of defeat. It seems all sides who really want to lose, be they RINO, Huckamaniac, Paleocon, Malkinite or Whateverite. They all seem to want to spark a civil war that in an effort to reshape the party/movement in their own image.

    As for a novena, here is one explanation:
    http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/11141b.htm

  29. bmac said

    Eddie, you nailed exactly what I was trying to say a few posts ago, that both parties are trying to lose, so they can rush in and clean up the mess, the mess that we are going to have to eat.

    And thanks for the novena link, not being Catholic, or really religious for that matter, I had no idea.

  30. Ryan said

    This is something that is really bothersome. I wrote a post (http://arclightzero.wordpress.com/2008/01/11/why-the-gop-is-failing-fred/) on this not too long ago and had a wide range of interesting responses, some of which I found really unnerving… It would seem that the GOP is definitely moving center-left to fill the void that is being left as the dems move further away from the center. I firmly believe that Fred is being punished for breaking from these new “ideals” and trying to return to more traditional Conservative values.

  31. bmac said

    I read your post Ryan, and the only thing I would disagree with would be not that the GOP is failing Fred, the GOP is failing itself. I don’t believe they are re-defining in order to get votes, I think they are absolutely clueless, and have become a party of elitists, who are grasping at straws, while ignoring the basisc GOP values that get them elected every time. In short, they’ve become Democrats.

    Either that, or they really are trying to lose. I don’t think either party really wants the first post-Bush Presidency, and all that’s going to come with it, because it will be a party defining 4 years, no matter who wins, for both parties.

  32. Ryan said

    That is true, the GOP is definitely failing itself here… I simply used Fred as an example of what happens when somebody breaks from the party line – but I should probably have elaborated a bit as to how the GOP is failing all the way around.

    I think that are simply intent on winning and are willing to do whatever it takes. They are making a dangerous assumption in thinking that Conservatives will vote Republican out of some sort of party allegiance while they go out and pander for everybody else’s vote.

    If the GOP fails us this time around, I think we will seriously have to consider leaving them and starting a Conservative party to fill the void on the right and let the GOP be the centerist party. It’s an ugly proposition, but it may just work out like that.

  33. bmac said

    I’m all about starting a Conservative Party.

    In fact, I still have half my face painted blue, and am still sitting on my horse. (you have to read all the comments)

    WHO’S WITH ME!?

    Seriously, I’m all for it.

  34. pajama momma said

    You know I stayed up till all hours watching that movie the other night.

  35. eddiebear said

    BMAC:
    Thanks. My in-laws are firm believers in novenas.

  36. […] he is on while I am at work), but I certainly respect his opinions, and even he is questioning the direction the the Republican party is moving in… And those who listen to Jason Lewis (and if you don’t I would highly advise checking […]

  37. nicedeb said

    Oh, sorry I got the symbols reversed. It’s been a while since grade school.

  38. What’s funny is that people are gonna think this post really has it goin on.

    It’s like charging across the battlefield on my steed only to have a tricky, filthy Scot impale my horse!

  39. pajama momma said

    Yeah! What a rip-off! I want my money back!

  40. bmac said

    All sales final.

    Suckas!

Leave a Reply

 
