A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

Bono Will Save Africa With Giant Sunglasses

Posted by bmac on January 24, 2008

I hate to just always bitch on this blog, but hey, isn’t that what blogging’s all about when you get right down to it? Nobody really wants to hear bitching in person, not even me, because….it’s depressing. But on a blog, bitching can be viewed as creative criticism. Yeah, creative criticism, I like that. I am a creative critic.

I just can’t help myself, so many things just seem so stupid to me. Where a normal person views an event with relative “meh,” I view the same event as an assault on my intelligence, and I’m not even close to what I would consider intelligent. I do feel I have an abundance of common sense however, which is very different from intelligence. Anybody who reads this blog has to be able to sense that I don’t have a college education, not that I’m ashamed of that, but I’m sure it comes through, especially to some of the very smart people I know that read this blog. Just the way I put together sentences is probably an affront to anyone who had an English class in college, but what the hell, I’m just putting my twisted view of the world out there, and I hope I make some observations you may not have, albeit in a pretty sarcastic tone.

Speaking of which: Frigging Bono. I don’t know about you, but I’m sick to death of Bono, and his quest to fix Africa. He just visited the Pentagon to discuss Africa, and if your gonna talk to someone about Africa at the Pentagon, who better than the lead singer of a rock band.

You know, because as a billionaire world famous celebrity, he’s got the story of what’s really going on. Nobody could ever possibly mislead the mighty friggen Bono about poverty in Africa, because he’s probably got people for that. People who vet all the information given to the mega famous, super wealthy, giant sunglass wearing singer. He just has to be the absolute best possible authority on the subject of poverty in Africa, because you know, he goes there a lot. And he was in Live Aid. And most of all, he cares. He really, really cares.

Let’s not talk about the fact that Live Aid may have taken more lives than it saved,as ruthless dictators used much of the food to feed their militias. That’s not important. What’s important is that Bono and Bob Geldof shed tears, for Africa, and damn it, they did something. They found time in their busy schedules to help people. Might have been the wrong people, but let’s not nitpick. Caring is what matters, and people like Bono and Geldof care more than you.

2008-01-23t214008z_01_n2.jpg  geddy.jpg

Bono, or Geddy Lee?

We should acknowledge that caring by having Bono be the keynote speaker at every important facility or event, regarding the subject of Africa, because nobody remembers who Bob Geldof is, and let’s face it, he’s probably broke these days, and washed up pop stars opinions are not as informed as someone who’s last album went quadruple platinum, and to my knowledge, Geldof doesn’t own a even single pair of giant sunglasses.

Has Bono helped people? I’m sure he has, and that’s a good thing, but for a mega pop star to be the “go to” guy on the subject of an entire continent, is just stupid, in my humble opinion. Not to mention the fact that many responsible African leaders have called for a stop to some of this global welfare, so that Africans can begin to take a more active role in their own survival.

See? Creative criticism. Not bitching.

6 Responses to “Bono Will Save Africa With Giant Sunglasses”

  1. Enas Yorl said

    I saw that on Drudge yesterday and wondered why anyone at the Pentagon would give Boner the time of day, much less actually meet with the guy. Just to avoid bad publicity I guess.

    I read this a while back – Let Africa Sink and it’s a hell of a lot more accurate assessment (if a whole lot grimmer) of Africa than Bono will ever have.

    In Geldof’s defence – I do remember reading something a while back where he admitted that the whole Live Aid thing didn’t actually help anything at all. He seemed pretty soured about the whole thing and said that he would refuse to participate in anything similar ever again.

  2. Cao said

    Hey, the earthlink email address I have for you isn’t working anymore…email me with a new one if you want to stay on the Murdoch Memorial blogburst list-

  3. Ryan said

    this just makes me want to gag. I guess nothing screams “legitimate cause” quite like having an aging activist rock star and a failed presidential candidate and compulsive liar trying to fix the world’s problems…

    Remind me again why anybody thinks these loony toons are capable of speaking with any sort of authority on various political, economic or environmental issues… I don’t get it.

  4. aging activist rock star and a failed presidential candidate

    I think they should take up golf and leave us alone.

  5. Gerard said

    FACT: The Non-Africans trying now “to SAVE Africa” continue an amazing legacy by applying a variant of colonialism. All they do is highlight the still-hidden wealth & resources of the untapped markets, for others to follow & exploit!
    FACT: See Bill Gates et al, @ DAVOS 2008! What is DAVOS anyway!? Helping others? Duh! More like influencing (local) policy, as well as getting insider info re: where to “invest|donate|exploit|DEVASTATE”!

  6. jas said

    yep I said these things along time ago,Africans leaving in diffrent countries in Africa are sometimes not even aware of all these pleas for aid on thier behalf. They have no concept of the way they are viewed until they come to europe and realise that they are being stigmatized.

Leave a Reply

 
