A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

French Actress Is Incredibly……French And Actressy

Posted by bmac on March 2, 2008

Ahh…French women. Actresses. Two great tastes that taste great together. A bi-fecta of self congratulatory ignorance. Add an Oscar to that and you get the perfect storm of ego-centric retardation.

Such is the case with Oscar winner Marion Cotillard, who joins the truther party, keeping company with respected fellow actors Charlie Sheen and Rosie.

marion4wi_468x357.jpg

Normally I wouldn’t care at all, because I’ve never heard of this broad. I didn’t watch the Oscars or see her film because I’m straight, but she said some funny stuff.

Referring to the two passenger jets being flown into the Twin Towers, Cotillard said:

“We see other towers of the same kind being hit by planes. Are they burned? They [sic] was a tower, I believe it was in Spain, which burnt for 24 hours. It never collapsed. None of these towers collapsed. And there [in New York], in a few minutes, the whole thing collapsed.

I can just hear the way she’s struggling with English to make her stupid point. It’s almost cute. Like when a beauty pageant contestant tries to say something smart. I just want to pat her on the head. She does put a new and exciting twist on the conspiracy though:

She added that the towers, planned in the early Sixties, were an outdated “money-sucker” that would have cost more to modernise than to rebuild altogether, which is why they were destroyed.

She said: “It was a money-sucker because they were finished, it seems to me, by 1973, and to re-cable all that, to bring up-to-date all the technology and everything, it was a lot more expensive, that work, than destroying them.”

A-ha, it was too expensive to update the buildings that were built waaay back in the 70’s. Well hey, in her defense, “Re-cabling” is a bitch. Everybody knows that. She’s also a Moonie:

She said: “Did a man really walk on the Moon? I saw plenty of documentaries on it, and I really wondered. And in any case I don’t believe all they tell me, that’s for sure.”

She ain’t nobody’s fool. Here’s the interesting part:

But Cotillard, who lives with actor and director Guillaume Canet, frequently tells interviewers she has no interest in money or prestige.

Denying that she had any kind of “Anglo-Saxon ambition”, she said she prefers to “choose roles which suit me”.

Despite her low-key image, Cotillard is an environmental activist who once worked as a spokesman for Greenpeace.

“Anglo Saxon Ambition?” WTF? Is this some new euro-dis I haven’t heard about? Is that some kind of “western imperialism” dealie?

Well, there ya have it. At least she’s hot. Or good thing she’s hot.

16 Responses to “French Actress Is Incredibly……French And Actressy”

  1. S. Weasel said

    Is this some new euro-dis I haven’t heard about? Is that some kind of “western imperialism” dealie?

    Yep. Except that it isn’t new. Remember Napoleon supposedly called England “a nation of shopkeepers”? Same dealie.

    “Anglo-Saxon” is a derogatory term on the continent — particularly France. It indicates all sorts of things…working hard to make more money, for example. Quelle horreur! They have a strictly enforced 35 hour work week (reduced in 2000 from 39 hours). They don’t believe in working hard and getting ahead. In fact, they think the very idea is tacky and mean.

    Britain is so much more like the US than it is like Europe. It’s a pity they keep chasing after the EU.

  2. bmac said

    Interesting. I know they see work as demeaning, or as you put it “tacky.” That one word alone paints the perfect picture for me of the French view of working.

    The “Anglo-Saxon Ambition” thing is a term I’ve just never heard before, but then again, I’m not exactly the most “international” type of fella.

  3. S. Weasel said

    Well, there’s a weirdly conservative element to it. They believe in the peasant farmer and his pig. They believe in working hard, if you mean kneading the bread by hand. Like so.

    They just don’t get the whole British bustling commerce, cheerful capitalism thing. And, of course, Britain’s fabulously successful offspring the US. This is why whenever somebody gets mad over there, they throw a brick through a McDonald’s front window.

    And the very fact the McDonald’s still has enough appeal in France that they’ve got them to burn…that probably makes them madder’n anything.

  4. bmac said

    Royaal with cheese!

    I totally get that.
    What an excellent explanation.

    So tradesman like profesions are noble, investment banking-not so much.

    I always think of the French heat wave a few years back that killed a shitload of elderly and sick because everyone was on holiday and couldn’t be bothered.

  5. eddiebear said

    And what is sad is that she is so hot and likes to get nekkid in her movies.

  6. bmac said

    Nekkedness knows no politics!

  7. cranky said

    She’s so freaking deep that smart couldn’t fall far enough down that hole to reach her.

  8. bmac said

    I’ve never heard that one before!
    Puttin’ it in the file for future reference.

  9. Jada Win said


    Marion Cottillard was 18 when she said this shit. Teenagers everywhere in United States or in the EU often say craps. But I undestand its interesting for your blog, to start a new thread of french bashing. Everyone is free to choose the type of its readers …
    I think the french are right to despise this kind of “Anglo-Saxon crap”.

    Jadawin
    (Swiss)

  10. bmac said

    This thread has officially been changed to Swiss bashing.

    Despise “Anglo-Saxon crap” all you want, but until the Swiss actually accomplish something beyond stunning mediocrity, don’t expect me to respect you.

    Swiss chicks are hot though, I’ll give you that.

  11. Jada Win said

    Tu es la preuve que les adultes aussi disent des conneries “bmac”. Tu n’est qu’un petit con…

  12. bmac said

    I don’t know what you just said, because I don’t speak asshole, but I’m going to go ahead and take it as dis-respect, and add that it would be much easier to understand you without a cock in your mouth.

    Oh wait, my apologies, did I say “cock in your mouth?”
    I meant ” a Horses Cock in your mouth.”

    Sorry.

  13. Honda Civic 2010

  14. Anonymous said

    Hi, very good website on this niche. I found it on Google. I will surely save it and come back to read it. If you accept a little bit of critique – it needs some iPhone 4S work on the lookpart🙂

  15. Bella said

    “Marion Cottillard was 18 when she said this shit” – that’s amazing, because that would mean the interview’s from 1994! She’s really ahead of her time.

    If you’re in the public eye (or even if you’re not), you shouldn’t be going around saying this kind of offensive thing. She must have been considerably older than 18 when she said this, but even if she was 18, that would still be no excuse. It’s just not on. I remember being 18, and I would never have said something so disrespectful. A lot of people died on 9/11, and to suggest that they were killed by their own government simply because it was “too expensive” to modernise the Twin Towers is horrible. And really, really illogical.

    For the record, I’m not American, I’m English. I am, truly, Anglo-Saxon – and much as I respect people who decide they’d rather do the parts they think are interesting instead of going for the productions that’ll make the most money, I really resent the derogatory way she said “Anglo-Saxon ambition”, implying that Anglo-Saxon productions are unintelligent, crass, money-motivated trash aimed at the lowest common denominator.
    We “Anglo-Saxons” (both the English and the Americans) have an impressive repertoire of some of the most respected and talented actors, writers, and directors that have ever worked in the film industry, and to dismiss our cinematic history as a soulless, insipid cash cow is really idiotic. And really annoying.

    Always thought she was ugly, now I know she’s stupid as well.

  16. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?

    My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all
    over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any techniques to help
    stop content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

 
