A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

One More Quick Movie Review

Posted by bmac on May 29, 2008

There Will Be Blood

I rented this with that slew of crap, and just got to it last night. This made up for all that shit. I loved it. I think this is a love/hate kinda movie, like P.T. Andersons other love it or hate it film, “Magnolia,” which I HATED. Although I will say it contained the absolute best performance of Tom Cruise’s entire career.

P.T. Anderson seems to have a way of getting great performances out of unlikely actors, like Cruise, or Burt Reynolds who was awesome in “Boogie Nights,” the only other Anderson film I like love. “Boogie Nights” also contained the best, most realistic depiction of dudes “tweaking” ever committed to film.

There’s not a great story in “There Will be Blood”, and the ending sucks, but Daniel Day Lewis kept me riveted for 2 1/2 hours. I could have watched 2 1/2 MORE hours of him being Daniel Plainview. He acted his face off. He deserved that Oscar, and then some. Friggen awesome.

I’m glad I didn’t really know anything about this movie other than Lewis winning the Oscar, because you just can’t tell where it’s going, right up until the end, and I love that. Lewis was so great, I didn’t even feel ripped off by the crappy ending.

9 Responses to “One More Quick Movie Review”

  1. MCPO Airdale said

    So, I should put this on my NetFlix que??

  2. bmac said

    Hell yeah!

  3. Rosetta said

    Hey, did you goobers see No Country For Old Men?

    Also excellent.

  4. bmac said

    I was gonna ask about that in the post, I heard it also had a shit ending, but if the actings’ anywhere near “Blood”, I’m all over it.

  5. Rosetta said

    You need to see it. I have what I think is an excellent theory about the ending which I don’t think is shit at all. You need to see it first and then I’ll tell you why I think I know how it ends.

    Tommy Lee Jones is outstanding as always. You will even give Josh Broslin props.

    And Javier Verdum is an e x c e l l e n t bad dude.

    Great acting and a great movie. Definitely worth a viewing.

  6. bmac said

    Gettin’ it tonight.

    The movie I mean.

  7. Rosetta said

    Gettin’ it tonight.

    The movie I mean.

    Hahahahaha.

  8. MCPO Airdale said

    It is a great movie. Javier is the shizzle!

  9. bmac said

    Ok Rosetta, and MCPO, I watched it, thought it was good, but I’m a little iffy about the ending. Was that like the thing this year? Sudden endings?

    So, what is your theory Rosetta?

Leave a Reply

 
