A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

Florida Goes Postal On Smokers

Posted by bmac on May 20, 2008

Here we go again, Sarasota County Will not hire smokers.

Citing health care costs.

I just don’t know how to say how dangerous this is.

Citing the burden they place on taxpayers who pay for government workers’ health insurance, Sarasota County officials announced Monday that they no longer will hire smokers.

After the country is free of smokers, all of you that like cheeseburgers better get ready to love delicious ricecakes.

What’s that? you say you like to ride dirt bikes on the weekend? Sorry, too dangerous. Next.

Enjoy a couple drinks after work? Do you have any idea the cost of alcohol related health care? A daily urine test will be required if you want to work here.

Is that a pair of rollerblades in the back seat of your car? Broken bones cost the state plenty buddy.

How dare you drink coffee in the morning, don’t you know how many caffeine related illnesses there are?

Is that a fucking Twinkie in your hand??!!! Security!!!!!!

I’ve said this before, but this Jihad against smokers is the state dipping their feet in the water of fascism, and when smoking is fully banned, they WILL move on to something else. It won’t stop there when they see they can dictate personal behaviour without anyone putting up a fight.

31 Responses to “Florida Goes Postal On Smokers”

  1. Should we blame the matches?
    Should we blame the fire?
    Or the doctors who allowed him to expire?
    heck no!
    Blame Canada
    Blame Canada
    With all their hockey hullabaloo
    And that bitch Anne Murray too
    Blame Canada
    Shame on Canada
    For…
    The smut we must stop
    The trash we must bash
    The Laughter and fun
    Must all be undone
    We must blame them and cause a fuss
    Before somebody thinks of blaming uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuus!!!!

  2. bmac said

    What would Brian Boitano do?

  3. Dangit. I got that song stuck in my head now.

  4. Rosetta said

    How can they test prospective employees and refuse employment because of the use of a legal substance?

    I’m serious about that question. How can they justify that vs the ingestion of 1,000 other things that can increase medical costs.

    Fucking Nazis.

    The entire state of Florida is retarded. Especially north Florida around the Jacksonville area.

  5. bmac said

    How can they test prospective employees and refuse employment because of the use of a legal substance?

    Fuckin’a brother.

    Seems unconstitutional somehow.

  6. Rosetta said

    At the very least it’s blatantly discriminatory and I can’t imagine that holding up in court.

    I’m going to go ahead and hold my breath as I wait for Sarasota County to decree that they will not hire gay men who engage in unprotected monkey butt sex since the higher risk of AIDS will increase health care costs.

    That should happen any minute.

    Any minute now…

  7. bmac said

    Private companies in Florida have been doing this for some time.

    Florida Companies Forbid Smoking In Private Lives

  8. Rosetta said

    Are these bans not being challenged in court or are they being challenged but upheld.

    I want to know on what basis this is legal. I honestly don’t get it.

    And if this is entirely legal then I agree with you; Katy bar the fucking door.

    I would never hire a woman that weighed more than 120 150 pounds.

  9. MCPO Airdale said

    Rosetta- Great minds. . . you articulated my questions. Thanks.

  10. bmac said

    Are these bans not being challenged in court or are they being challenged but upheld.

    That’s a good question, and if I weren’t such a lazy bastard, I suppose I’d have an answer for you. I just point to problems and run away. It’s just easier that way.

    I think private companies can do whatever they want, and when you discriminate against filthy, disgusting smokers, nobody seems to mind, plus suing a company could wind up being pretty expensive, so I’m guessing most citizens would just let it fly.

    On the city or county level however, I would think they’re held to higher standards, but again, the visceral hatred of smokers usually sends these things through without a peep.

  11. MCPO Airdale said

    SOmebody ought to sue the fascist bastages!

  12. bmac said

    You’re the closest to Florida right MCPO?

    Gas money wise, you’re gonna have to handle this one.

  13. MCPO Airdale said

    Bmac- It cost me $45 to put half a tank of unleaded regular in the SUV of Doom yesterday AND it’s a 13 hour drive just ot get to J’ville!

  14. bmac said

    Do you have a laptop in your SUV?

    Why aren’t you driving?

    Sarasota ain’t gonna sue itself MCPO!

    Rosetta will pay you back.

  15. Rosetta said

    Sarasota ain’t gonna sue itself MCPO!

    Hahahaha.

    Rosetta will pay you back.

    You will have my deepest appreciation which, along with $1.00 will buy you a cup of soup.

  16. The entire state of Florida is retarded. Especially north Florida around the Jacksonville area.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! You can just insult me all over the blogosphere can’t you?

  17. Rosetta said

    Whatever do you mean?

    Are you from around the Jacksonville area???

  18. Once again, I reference this classic Moron Pundit Post. That is our future. I’d rent it again if you forgot how shitty it is.

  19. Are you from around the Jacksonville area???

    Who is this? Who are you? I’m hanging up now. I’m serious. Crank call! Crank call!

  20. bmac said

    Good post Moronpundit, you nailed it.

    You will have my deepest appreciation which, along with $1.00 will buy you a cup of soup.

    See MCPO?

    You can just insult me all over the blogosphere can’t you?

    Did someone show Pajama Momma the new secret knock?

  21. MCPO Airdale said

    Bmac- Let me get right on that.

  22. stupid knock
    my knuckles hurt from repeated attempts

  23. Rosetta said

    I can has soft totalitarianism?

    Hahaha! That bit never gets old.

    The “I can has…” bit I mean. Soft totalitarianism sucks balls.

    Here’s “I Know There’s Something Going On” by Frida:

  24. PattyAnn said

    Can’t we get a federal grant to do a study to determine how much tax money is being lost due to smoking cessation?
    That should change a few votes right there.

  25. bmac said

    Hi PA! Nice to see you here!

    You’re absolutely right, a giant chunk of the cost of a pack of smokes is tax. I think they’re thinking long term here, sacrifice some short term tax money for the much more lucrative and powerful eventual totalitarian state.

    Or maybe I’m just paranoid. I need a cigarette.

  26. Quitting smoking now greatlty reduces your interest in this subject.

  27. Tarkus said

    I have actually received a notice from my HOA saying I can no longer smoke in my condo, or on my balcony for that matter – siting that even the smell of smoke constitutes a nuisence. But apparently my vietnamese neighbors can continue to cure catfish in the heating ducts of our building, at least that’s what it smells like.

  28. bmac said

    or on my balcony for that matter

    That’s fucking ridiculous. One of the many reasons I no longer will ever, ever, ever, live under HOA Nazis again.

    Life’s too short to not be able smoke in your own house. (if you smoke)

    Sorry Tarkus that sucks, maybe you can start complaining relentlessly about the catfish stench.

  29. MCPO Airdale said

    I smoke but not in the house. . . it’s why I bought an end unit. It came with a patio.

  30. bmac said

    HOA give you any grief about that MCPO?

  31. PattyAnn said

    Hi bmac! I’m in here quietly checking out your posts at least every couple of days. Don’t tell anybody, but I like your blog.
    That and I chase Rosetta and PJ all around the internet.

Leave a comment