A Fine Line Between Stupid And Clever

Now With Electrolytes!

Hard To Find Good Help These Days

Posted by bmac on March 27, 2008

I totally understand how this could happen:

The head of the top U.S. phone company AT&T Inc (T.N) said on Wednesday it was having trouble finding enough skilled workers to fill all the 5,000 customer service jobs it promised to return to the United States from India.

“We’re having trouble finding the numbers that we need with the skills that are required to do these jobs,” AT&T Chief Executive Randall Stephenson told a business group in San Antonio, where the company’s headquarters is located.

These are customer service jobs, so I’m guessing a college degree is not one of the “skills” AT&T is requiring. I’m thinking that by “skills” what they really mean, is people that can actually show up to work, dress themselves, and not speak like a member of K-Feds posse.

Good luck. I ran a business for the last three years, a retail business, and I must have had at least a hundred people come in and ask for a job. Guess how many I would have even considered hiring? Maybe three. Maybe. Granted, it wasn’t a high paying job, but the lack of even the most basic form of self-respect, or even a hint of giving the slightest fuck about their appearance while asking for a job, was appalling.

Almost all of the “applicants” came in with a baseball hat cocked to one side, or giant pants dragging on the floor, or totally sleeved with tattoos, or just generally thuggish, or dirty, and the usual banter was “Ya’ll hirin?”

I wish I were exaggerating.

Another example of our declining level of basic “giving a crap” skills.

The other day, I was at the DMV. Everybody has to go to the DMV, so I figure it’s a pretty good cross-section, or micro-cosm of America, and I was struck by what a slovenly bunch we seem to have become. Most everybody there looked as if they’d just rolled out of bed, and just threw on whatever would save them the most number of steps to get to. I’m not the snappiest dresser in the world, but I do make a little effort when I leave the house, to not look like I’m gonna shank you, or cough up a nice case of hepatitis C. The place was crawling with messy hair, tattoos, (mostly on women!) thugs, (white and black, no racism here) and even a couple Gothy/Punk disasters. Trust me, no one is being held back by “the man” on expressing themselves aesthetically.

Just outside the DMV, they were registering voters, and there was a dude sitting there, “working” and, well, I took a picture:

21.jpg

It’s kinda hard to tell from a cell phone pic, (click it) but this dude was dressed in giant shorts and t-shirt, shaved head with a tattoo on his neck, sitting there with his feet up on the registration desk, smoking a cigarette. I don’t really know the deal on the people that put him there, or if he gets paid or what, but FUCK DUDE, can you EVEN TRY to not look like a lazy piece of shit while you’re registering voters?

Maybe I’m a judgemental asshole, but as I was sitting there looking at this messy horde of sloppy-ass, not giving a shit, hot mess of humanity, I seriously thought to myself “If we ever get into a real war again, or have any kind of an actual crises in this country, we’re fucked.”

I hope I’m wrong.

4 Responses to “Hard To Find Good Help These Days”

  1. Jay Landry said

    Very funny writing style. Diddo. Wait till summer gets here. It will only get worse.

  2. cranky said

    The voter registration dude is just a Democrat, latin: slovenliness democratis juvenile in his spring plumage.

  3. bmac said

    You know what Cranky? I think he was on the Democrat side, although there was no sign, or indication that they were registering Dems.

    Across from this dude was another little desk, with a “sponsored by the Nevada Republican Party” banner, attended by a nicely dressed young lady, who never once put her feet up.

  4. in2thefray said

    You are so right with this.

Leave a Reply

 
